Be Careful What You Wish For

After seeing the movie The Desolation of Smaug in the theater a couple weeks ago, I posted the following to Faceobok:

Ok peeps, I just finished watching The Desolation of Smaug, and I thought I’d let you know that if you are still looking for the perfect Christmas gift for me, I wouldn’t say no to having a barrel of Thorin Oakenshield on tap.

Here we have Exhibit A, a still from the movie:

Image

And here is we have Exhibit B, the glorious outcome of my request, gifted to me by one of my nephews:

Image

Behold! Thorin Oakenshield, son of Thrain, son of Thror, King under the Mountain!  

How cool is that?  I’m thinking about carrying around some theme music and making dramatic, smouldering entrances holding my new action figure held out in front of me.  What a first impression that would make!

It’s probably a very good thing that there isn’t a Smaug figure, too, or else my friends and family would quickly tire of me announcing at random intervals that “I am… fire. I am.. DEATH”  or crooning to them, “Well, theif!  Where are you? … Come now, don’t be shy.”

I’m geeking out, I know, but I’m ok with that. I got a permission slip from Tom Hiddleston that says it’s ok, too.   I recently watched a  Tom Hiddleston interview (ok, yes, I was originally watching videos of him dancing, but moved on to other things) where he said his personal metaphor for deciding what projects to pursue and which ones to avoid was a diving board.  If something excited him and made him want to rip his clothes off, climb up and jump off the board, then he knew he had to do it.   (Someone in the audience fangirled and screamed when he mentioned ripping off his clothes, so held up a hand and said, “Steady.” Ha!) It’s nice to find those permission slips in unexpected places.

Even at the risk of seeming foolish, I’ll carry on with my irrational and childish love of all things dragons and wizards and fantasy because I love it beyond reason.  So if you see a somewhat middle-aged woman out in public, playing fan fare via her cell phone and marching about with a Thorin Oakenshield figure, feel free to say hi.

One thought on “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. Pingback: Happy Hobbit Day and a Tingling Tolkien Week | Mrs. Fakefish

Leave a Reply

