There’s Something I Was Supposed To Remember…

Does anyone know what today is?  No?  Gosh… there was something important today, something I was supposed to remember… it had something to do with cake  and… *snaps fingers* I’ve got it!  It’s my wedding anniversary.

I mention this here, because Fakefish and I have been known to forget our anniversary.  Both of us. One year, his supervisor reminded him the day after, and he came home from work with a bouquet of flowers. I was so pleased and surprised to be getting flowers out of the blue like that. Well, when he realized I had also forgotten our anniversary, we were fairly certain that we’d made the right choice marrying each other, because who else would put up with that kind of oversight?

We’re just not big hoopla kind of people.  We got married in the woods with about 30 friends and family around us.  There was food on the grill and squirrels stealing appetizers off the tables and the guests wore blue jeans.  One of the guests brought his dog. There was also a rather fat duck following people around as we set things up, looking for a handout.  It was also the same weekend as the Redwood Run, and we exchanged vows with Harleys thundering up and down the Avenue of the Giants in the background.  The kids went swimming in the  river and we had too much food.  For us, it was perfect.

Our version of wedded bliss may not look picture perfect, but it works for us  I’m thrilled to be renewing Fakefish’s contract for another year, because I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

Anniversary...haha i laughed too hard at this!

2 thoughts on “There’s Something I Was Supposed To Remember…

  1. Whoa, whoa, whoa…I’ll take a lot of insults, but referring to me as “a rather fat duck following people around as we set things up, looking for a handout” crosses the line!

    Happy Anniversary!

    • You would have been the long-haired, harmonica playing hipster I’m afraid. That duck had a completely different agenda.

Leave a Reply

