Fabulous Forty: No. 10 Professional Eyebrow Waxing

DATE COMPLETED:  August 20

Oooooooo boy!  I must put a disclaimer right here at the start.  The BEFORE picture is scary. There is no PhotoShop correction or beautification of my Nanny McPhee Eyebrows.  I let them go feral for about 2 months so the lady doing the waxing would have plenty of material to work with.

nanny mcphee

I really wasn’t sure where to start with this goal, aside from just letting my oh-so-abundant eyebrows do what they do, and I have an EXTREMELY small social circle, so asking a friend who they used only yielded a recommendation for eyebrow threading.  I wasn’t too keen on the idea of threading, so I once again turned to Yelp and reviews left there.

I settled on the European Wax Center.  I think it’s pretty safe to say that if there is a part of the country where hair grows, there’s a location of the European Wax Center. The salon (torture chamber? de-hairifier?)  had plenty of good reviews, it’s about a 3-minute drive from my house, and best of all I was able to make my appointment online, effectively avoiding any human interaction until it was absolutely necessary.

Here’s my Before Picture, and not for the faint of heart:

eyebrows before

Yikes.

I was actually excited, rather than nervous, going into the wax-o-matic. I have waxed my eyebrows at home for years and years, so I wasn’t concerned about pain.   Also, I had decided at the outset of this experiment, I was going to do something unusual for me and actually talk to people, like with words and eye contact and all that, about what I was doing and why I was doing it. So when I went in, I had been rehearsing my chit-chat in my head.  I find small talk works best for me if I script it first, otherwise my base reaction is to start quoting bits of trivia that rises to the surface.  I turn into the kid from Jerry Maguire, “Did you know the human head weighs eight pounds?”

10-Jerry-Maguire-quotes

To avoid winning people over with my social awkwardness, or filling the room with one of my infamous and uncomfortable (for others) silences, I rehearse chit-chat in my head.

Anyway – excited to get de-haired and armed with a bullet  list of topics for chit-chat, I went in to the center and was met by a lovely and charming consultant who led me into a private room and then yanked out the hair off my face by the roots.

Here are the results:

eeybrows after

Since I was expanding my horizons and all that, I also let the consultant “fill in” my eyebrows and gel them into place. I think the fill is a bit of overkill for me.  AND as an added perk, the salon does your first waxing FREE.  Wooo hoooo!

This is going on my list of affordable indulgences from here on out. Not sure if I’ll remember to do it every month. I tend to forget to do girly things like that.  Shoot, I haven’t changed my earrings in over a year because it seems like such a hassle.  How am I gonna manage to make an appointment and show up for girly grooming each month?  I’ll shoot for semi-regular and see how it goes.

That’s two items down and 38 to go, although, I still need three more items to complete my Fabulous Forty list.

Up Next:  Eye Exam for the Aged and Semi-Blind and progress on the AFI Movie List and the BBC Big Read list.  Stay tuned for more scintillating, middle-aged action!

One thought on “Fabulous Forty: No. 10 Professional Eyebrow Waxing

  1. Pingback: Fabulous Forty Update | Mrs. Fakefish

Leave a Reply

