Dork Fish Strikes Again

dork fish

I have been making a concentrated effort to work my way through the AFI’s 100 Years 100 Movies list as one of my Fabulous Forty goals. I know at this point I’m not going to make it through my entire goal list and I made my peace with that, but I thought I could AT LEAST get this one done. I went to double check what I had in my Netflix queue against the list, and one of the movies, The Jazz Singer, didn’t have the year associated with it on my reference list and there were multiple choices on Netflix.  So, I did a quick Google search and discovered, with only 24 movies to go,  that I’d been working off the 1997 list, THE OLD LIST, not the updated 2007 10th Anniversary List. *beats head against wall*  How did this get past me??? Ugh.

Some of the movies I already watched were dropped, I now have 28 movies to completed the list instead of 24, and there are four of those movies that Netflix doesn’t have (High Noon, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Modern Times and Do the Right Thing).  Weird.

At the start of this little experiment of mine, I thought, “How hard could it be to watch movies? I can just sit there and work on other projects while I watch.  It’ll be a piece of cake.” Turns out, it’s pretty stinking difficult when a lot of the movies are about as appealing as getting a rectal exam while doing algebra and eating kale. I must admit, it’s very tempting to walk away and chalk it up to “a nice try.”  I’ll keep at it, though, and with a month left on my time table, I just might surprise myself. Or not.

Leave a Reply

